aple.git
4 months agofs: Expand subsection on NFS file delegations.
Andre Noll [Sun, 10 Jul 2022 11:47:33 +0000 (13:47 +0200)]
fs: Expand subsection on NFS file delegations.

Add some text about leases, the new corteous server feature and
directory delegations.

4 months agofs: Improve text on NFS silly renames.
Andre Noll [Sun, 10 Jul 2022 11:45:56 +0000 (13:45 +0200)]
fs: Improve text on NFS silly renames.

Mention the rmdir problem and that as of nfs4.1 silly renames are
a thing of the past. Adjust the exercise which asks the reader to
create a silly-renamed file accordingly.

4 months agofs: Fix typo in NFS section.
Andre Noll [Sun, 10 Jul 2022 11:45:14 +0000 (13:45 +0200)]
fs: Fix typo in NFS section.

9 months agoNetworking: Remove exercise about www.meineip.de.
Andre Noll [Tue, 1 Feb 2022 14:16:11 +0000 (15:16 +0100)]
Networking: Remove exercise about www.meineip.de.

This site went offline recently. It now redirects to a different
page which requires javascript and requires the user to enter a
captcha.

18 months agofilesystems: Add a paragraph about post-EOF reclaim after crash.
Andre Noll [Sat, 7 Nov 2020 21:45:27 +0000 (22:45 +0100)]
filesystems: Add a paragraph about post-EOF reclaim after crash.

21 months agoOSLV: Replace LXC section.
Andre Noll [Mon, 8 Feb 2021 16:15:16 +0000 (17:15 +0100)]
OSLV: Replace LXC section.

LXC got more and more complex, which made me write micoforia, a
minimalistic container framework for Linux. This commit replaces the
section on LXC by a similar section on micoforia.

2 years agoOS-Level_Virtualization: Fix typo.
Andre Noll [Mon, 20 Jul 2020 16:33:50 +0000 (18:33 +0200)]
OS-Level_Virtualization: Fix typo.

2 years agoIntroduction: Fix duplication anchor.
Andre Noll [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 08:23:03 +0000 (10:23 +0200)]
Introduction: Fix duplication anchor.

Since the chapter list is contained twice on the intro page, we
must use different names for the anchors. To do so, change the
TABLE_OF_CONTENTS() macro to receive the name of the anchor as an
argument.

Found by checklink.

Fixes: 47d1b278687988739b214025788f7c5739916e70

2 years agoOS-Level_Virtualization: Reword exercise on AMD's Secure Virtual Machine.
Andre Noll [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 08:11:53 +0000 (10:11 +0200)]
OS-Level_Virtualization: Reword exercise on AMD's Secure Virtual Machine.

The link is dead. Reword the exercise to avoid referring to the
document directly.

Found by checklink.

2 years agoFix two broken links.
Andre Noll [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 08:05:19 +0000 (10:05 +0200)]
Fix two broken links.

The cluster and the user-info repo were merged recently, and
the cluster repo was removed afterwards. This commit makes
the links refer to the user-info repo instead.

This only affects the internal version of the pages.

Found by checklink.

2 years agoFilesystems: Improve section on dentry cache.
Andre Noll [Thu, 26 Mar 2020 10:06:15 +0000 (11:06 +0100)]
Filesystems: Improve section on dentry cache.

2 years agoAdd link to LWN article on dcache.
Andre Noll [Mon, 27 Jan 2020 12:21:49 +0000 (13:21 +0100)]
Add link to LWN article on dcache.

Although a bit dated, it's still worth reading.

2 years agoAdd table of contents to the main page.
Andre Noll [Tue, 25 Feb 2020 14:25:27 +0000 (15:25 +0100)]
Add table of contents to the main page.

At least the netsurf browser completely ignores the hamburger icon,
so provide an alternative way to navigate the pages.

2 years agoHave the logo link to the top level page.
Andre Noll [Tue, 25 Feb 2020 14:12:30 +0000 (15:12 +0100)]
Have the logo link to the top level page.

This allows the user to switch back to the main page from any chapter.

2 years agoUnix Concepts: Move some links to "Further Reading".
Andre Noll [Mon, 10 Feb 2020 12:06:59 +0000 (13:06 +0100)]
Unix Concepts: Move some links to "Further Reading".

These are independent documents rather than exercises.

2 years agoUnix Concepts: Use <th> for table headers.
Andre Noll [Mon, 10 Feb 2020 11:51:28 +0000 (12:51 +0100)]
Unix Concepts: Use <th> for table headers.

This way they are styled according to the values in the css file.

2 years agoLVM: Fix broken link to COW.
Andre Noll [Mon, 3 Feb 2020 12:42:09 +0000 (13:42 +0100)]
LVM: Fix broken link to COW.

The link broke when the section on the virtual address space was made
a subsection. Just link to the containing section on processes instead.

Use the opportunity to reformat the whole paragraph and add the
missing at the end of the paragraph </p>.

2 years agoUnix Concepts: Remove broken link.
Andre Noll [Mon, 3 Feb 2020 12:36:36 +0000 (13:36 +0100)]
Unix Concepts: Remove broken link.

The section on soft and hard links was made a subsection, which has
been merged into the section on Paths, Files and Directories. Remove
the misleading and broken link.

Found by checklink.

2 years agoDecrease font size of menu.
Andre Noll [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 10:24:48 +0000 (11:24 +0100)]
Decrease font size of menu.

To make it fit onto small cell phone screens.

2 years agoImprove menu.
Andre Noll [Sat, 11 Jan 2020 10:37:42 +0000 (11:37 +0100)]
Improve menu.

The grey bar was not very intuitive to use, and it does not work with
all browsers. While elinks ignores the css and renders the menu at
the top of the page, at least one popular cell phone browser neither
shows the bar nor the menu, making it impossible to navigate the pages.

This commit reworks the css and html code to always show an hamburger
icon at the top left corner of the page. Moving the pointer on the
icon opens the menu.

Suggested-by: Sanja Jasek <S.Jasek@exeter.ac.uk>
Tested-by: Maša Lenuzzi <masa.lenuzzi@tuebingen.mpg.de>
2 years agoAvoid stray '<!DOCTYPE>' text.
Andre Noll [Sat, 11 Jan 2020 11:21:47 +0000 (12:21 +0100)]
Avoid stray '<!DOCTYPE>' text.

The markdown converter converts the doctype header into html which
results in a stray line at the top of the chapter. This only affects
the chapters that still use markdown: Bash, Git, Command Line
Utilities, and Gridengine.

This patch applies a silly workaround. In the long run, the chapters
should be converted to plain html.

2 years agoInitial commit.
Andre Noll [Fri, 10 Jan 2020 10:38:48 +0000 (11:38 +0100)]
Initial commit.

These files were created 2015 and orginally contained only the
material that was used for the Unix courses held back then at the
MPI for development biology in Tübingen.

Over time, more content was added and existing contents have been
improved. Development was tracked within the non-public "user-info"
git repository that also contains unrelated contents for internal
use within the institute.

In 2019-12 the title was changed to "Advanced Problems in the Linux
Environment" and the pages were made public. To give interested
readers access to the source code, contents were moved to a dedicated
repository that was made public in 2020-01.

No attempts were made to filter out the 269 commits of the user-info
repo that touched the files of the unix course.