Introduce get_config_file_name().
[dss.git] / dss.ggo
diff --git a/dss.ggo b/dss.ggo
index 23f2685..1662e0d 100644 (file)
--- a/dss.ggo
+++ b/dss.ggo
@@ -1,9 +1,9 @@
-# Copyright (C) 2008-2009 Andre Noll <maan@systemlinux.org>
+# Copyright (C) 2008-2010 Andre Noll <maan@systemlinux.org>
 #
 # Licensed under the GPL v2. For licencing details see COPYING.
 
 package "dss"
-version "0.1.3"
+version "0.1.4"
 purpose "the dyadic snapshot scheduler
 
 dss creates hardlink-based snapshots of a given directory on a remote
@@ -77,9 +77,10 @@ option "logfile" -
 "Logfile for the dss daemon process"
 string typestr="filename"
 optional
-details="
-       This option is mostly useful for the run command if --daemon
-       is also given.
+details = "
+       This option is only honored if both --run and --daemon are
+       given. Otherwise it is silently ignored and log output is
+       written to stderr.
 "
 
 ##################
@@ -110,11 +111,17 @@ groupoption "prune" P
 "Remove redundant and outdated snapshots"
 group="command"
 details="
-       A snapshot is considered outdated if it belongs to an interval
-       greater than the maximum number of intervals. It is said to be
-       redundant if it belongs to an interval that already contains
-       more than the desired number of snapshots. This command gets
-       rid of such snapshots.
+       A snapshot is considered outdated if its interval number
+       is greater or equal than the specified number of unit
+       intervals. See the \"Intervals\" section below for the precise
+       definition of these terms.
+
+       A snapshot is said to be redundant if it belongs to an
+       interval that already contains more than the desired number
+       of snapshots.
+
+       The prune command gets rid of both outdated and redundant
+       snapshots.
 "
 
 groupoption "ls" L
@@ -188,6 +195,21 @@ details="
        dss.
 "
 
+option "no-resume" -
+#~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+"Do not try to resume from previous runs"
+flag off
+details = "
+       Starting from version 0.1.4, dss tries to resume from a
+       previously cancelled dss instance by default. It does so by
+       looking at the status of the most recently created snapshot. If
+       this snapshot status is incomplete, its directory is reused
+       as the destination directory for a subsequent rsync run.
+
+       The --no-resume option deactivates this feature so that a new
+       directory is always used as the rsync destination directory.
+"
+
 option "rsync-option" O
 #~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 "Further rsync options"
@@ -247,6 +269,7 @@ option "pre-create-hook" r
 #~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 "Executed before snapshot creation"
 string typestr="command"
+default = "true"
 optional
 details="
        Execute this command before trying to create a new snapshot.
@@ -265,6 +288,7 @@ option "post-create-hook" o
 #~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 "Executed after snapshot creation"
 string typestr="command"
+default = "true"
 optional
 details="
        Execute this after a snapshot has successfully been
@@ -281,6 +305,7 @@ option "pre-remove-hook" -
 #~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 "Executed before snapshot removal"
 string typestr="command"
+default = "true"
 optional
 details="
        Execute this command before removing a snapshot. The full
@@ -302,6 +327,7 @@ option "post-remove-hook" -
 #~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 "Executed after snapshot removal"
 string typestr="command"
+default = "true"
 optional
 details="
        Execute this after a snapshot has successfully been removed. As
@@ -314,6 +340,7 @@ option "exit-hook" e
 #~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 "Executed if run command exits"
 string typestr="command"
+default = "true"
 optional
 details="
        This hook is only used if the --run command was given which
@@ -374,7 +401,8 @@ details="
        Note that not every file system supports the concept of inodes.
        Moreover it is not possible to reliably detect whether this is
        the case. Therefore this feature is disabled by default. It's
-       safe to enable it for ext3 file systems on linux though.
+       safe to enable it for ext2/ext3/ext4 file systems on linux
+       though.
 
        A value of zero (the default) deactivates this check.
 "