kill: New option --wait.
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Sun, 15 Oct 2017 16:08:47 +0000 (18:08 +0200)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Sat, 11 Nov 2017 15:26:09 +0000 (16:26 +0100)
commitfaed24aec8859d232fe3c0da415265e0de099ce4
tree1c71a9618b30544b8b7e64d6596dc0ad3a44ceb5
parent96c620fcf383faffb16c89c2ddd9b0857de6dfbb
kill: New option --wait.

Simply running "dss kill" during system shutdown to terminate the
dss process does not work as expected because the kill subcommand
exits after the signal has been sent, which might be long before the
targeted dss process terminates.

For example, the dss main process might be running its exit hook to
inform the system administrator about the fact that the dss service
is going down when the shutdown procedure already has deactivated the
network. Or the shutdown procedure kills the exit hook with SIGKILL
during its normal "killing remaining processes" phase before file
systems are unmounted.

With the --wait option, the kill subcommand will not return until the
dss process has died or the timeout expires. We hardcode the timeout
in send_signal() for the time being. It can be made configurable if
this turns out to be necessary.
dss.c
dss.suite
err.h