Create html version of the man page with groff.
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Mon, 20 Jun 2016 14:34:37 +0000 (16:34 +0200)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Thu, 14 Jul 2016 15:03:29 +0000 (17:03 +0200)
The html post processor of groff can directly create html, which is
expected to be of higher quality than the html generated by man2html. A
brief look at the "official" web site of man2html (as mentioned in the
description of the Ubuntu-14.04 package)

http://users.actrix.gen.nz/michael/vhman2html.html

shows why.

Makefile

index 111019c..3c00ce4 100644 (file)
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -40,7 +40,7 @@ dss.1: dss dss.1.inc
        help2man -h --detailed-help --include dss.1.inc -N ./$< > $@
 
 %.1.html: %.1
-       man2html $< > $@
+       groff -m man -Thtml -P -l -P -r $< | sed -e '1,/^<body>/d; /^<\/body>/,$$d' > $@
 
 clean:
        rm -f *.o dss dss.1 dss.1.html Makefile.deps *.png *~ cmdline.c cmdline.h index.html
@@ -53,5 +53,5 @@ index.html: dss.1.html index.html.in INSTALL README NEWS
        sed -e '1,/@NEWS@/d' -e '/@INSTALL@/,$$d' index.html.in >> $@
        markdown INSTALL >> $@
        sed -e '1,/@INSTALL@/d' -e '/@MAN_PAGE@/,$$d' index.html.in >> $@
-       sed -e '1,/Return to Main Contents/d' -e '/SEE ALSO/,$$d' dss.1.html >> $@
+       cat dss.1.html >> $@
        sed -e '1,/@MAN_PAGE@/d' index.html.in >> $@