gsu: Document gsu().
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Fri, 29 Aug 2014 18:13:13 +0000 (20:13 +0200)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Fri, 29 Aug 2014 19:56:35 +0000 (21:56 +0200)
To get started, gsu application writers need to know how the gsu()
function works. So let's provide a small introduction here and a
minimal example.

misc/gsu/subcommand

index a04b8de..6b5df0a 100644 (file)
@@ -513,6 +513,21 @@ gsu_get_unnamed_arg_num()
        result="$(($n - 1))"
 }
 
+# Entry point for all gsu-based scripts.
+#
+# The startup part of the application script should source this file to load
+# the functions defined here, and then call gsu(). Functions starting with com_
+# are automatically recognized as subcommands.
+#
+# Minimal example:
+#
+#      com_hello()
+#      {
+#              echo 'hello world'
+#      }
+#      gsu_dir=${gsu_dir:-/system/location/where/gsu/is/installed}
+#      . $gsu_dir/subcommand || exit 1
+#      gsu "$@"
 gsu()
 {
        local i