require bash-4.3
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Wed, 8 Mar 2017 07:38:56 +0000 (08:38 +0100)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Mon, 17 Apr 2017 14:10:50 +0000 (16:10 +0200)
bash-4.3, released in 2014, is the oldest version which supports the
nameref variables and options. Ubuntu-14.04 already ships bash-4.3
so it should be OK to depend on it.

README.md

index a0417d1..58d28a0 100644 (file)
--- a/README.md
+++ b/README.md
@@ -14,11 +14,11 @@ gsu is very easy to install:
 ___Requirements___
 
 gsu is implemented in bash, and thus gsu depends on bash. Bash version
-3 is required, version 4 is recommended. Besides bash, gsu depends
-only on programs which are usually installed on any Unix system (awk,
-grep, sort, ...). Care has been taken to not rely on GNU specific
-behavior of these programs, so it should work on non GNU systems
-(MacOS, FreeBSD, NetBSD) as well. The gui module depends on the dialog utility.
+4.3 is required. Besides bash, gsu depends only on programs which are
+usually installed on any Unix system (awk, grep, sort, ...). Care has
+been taken to not rely on GNU specific behavior of these programs,
+so it should work on non GNU systems (MacOS, FreeBSD, NetBSD) as
+well. The gui module depends on the dialog utility.
 
 ___Download___