vss: Remove self-made prefaulting.
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Sun, 6 Aug 2017 12:05:36 +0000 (14:05 +0200)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Sat, 12 Aug 2017 17:25:51 +0000 (19:25 +0200)
commit7bcce4a433d575b15bfb70b7274562d65dd4bd66
treefb1ada1b8f0c890a2f1f48c01839e629a38df4a5
parent738d19a4cfb194479e9e0c4a474df6b62c57f4b4
vss: Remove self-made prefaulting.

It used to help a bit on a very old laptop with broken IDE hardware,
see commit 7bba6232 (vss: Mmap audio files using MAP_POPULATE) from
six years ago. But even there it did not eliminate buffer underruns
completely. Our prefault code is too ugly to live, and its benefits
are questionable at best, so let's get rid of it.

We still map the audio file with MAP_POPOLATE, which should be enough
get the full audio file cached before chunks are sent.
vss.c