build: Don't insist on curses for CLI support.
authorAndre Noll <maan@systemlinux.org>
Sun, 1 Dec 2013 11:11:46 +0000 (12:11 +0100)
committerAndre Noll <maan@systemlinux.org>
Sun, 1 Dec 2013 11:21:26 +0000 (12:21 +0100)
On systems without curses headers/libs, support for interactive
cli tools is deactivated and a message is shown which claims that
readline depends on the curses library. This is not true: readline
uses the termcap functions, but does not link with the termcap or
curses library itself.  Applications must choose an appropriate
library that provides these functions.

This change should enable readline support on systems that have
libtermcap but no curses library.

configure.ac

index 4dd5c6d..36eab11 100644 (file)
@@ -727,12 +727,6 @@ AC_CHECK_HEADERS([readline/readline.h], [
        AC_MSG_WARN([readline/readline.h not found, $msg])
 ])
 
-if test "$have_curses" != "yes"; then
-       have_readline="no"
-       AC_MSG_WARN([interactive cli support depends on curses,])
-       AC_MSG_WARN([but no curses lib was detected, $msg])
-fi
-
 if test "$have_readline" = "yes"; then
        readline_ldflags="$readline_libs -lreadline"
        AC_SEARCH_LIBS([rl_free_keymap], [readline], [], [have_readline="no"])