bash_completion: Get rid of weird retry logic.
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Sun, 5 Nov 2017 18:38:44 +0000 (19:38 +0100)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Sun, 17 Dec 2017 12:56:07 +0000 (13:56 +0100)
It's totally unclear what this is supposed to do, as the commit which
introduced it six years ago does not say anything about the space
character being the only "proper" value.

Removing the check fixes an issue that only happens on the first
completion attempt: if a unique completion is possible, the completer
prints this completion as if there were multiple completions possible
instead of completing the command line.

bash_completion

index 0eb7074..3dd25e5 100644 (file)
@@ -9,10 +9,6 @@ _para_complete()
        local line="$COMP_LINE" OLD_IFS="$IFS"
        local opts n
 
-       if [[ "$COMP_WORDBREAKS" != ' '  ]]; then
-               COMP_WORDBREAKS=' '
-               return 124 # try again with proper value
-       fi
        # This extracts short and long options from the help output
        local script='{
                if ($1 ~ "-[a-zA-Z]," && $2 ~ "--[a-zA-Z]") {