filesystems: Add a paragraph about post-EOF reclaim after crash.
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Sat, 7 Nov 2020 21:45:27 +0000 (22:45 +0100)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Sun, 9 May 2021 14:58:37 +0000 (16:58 +0200)
Filesystems.m4

index 9035de5..e2ac561 100644 (file)
@@ -955,6 +955,11 @@ file fragmentation, but they can cause confusion because they are
 accounted identically to other blocks, making files appear to use
 more data blocks than expected. </p>
 
+<p> If the system crashes while preallocated post-EOF blocks exist,
+the space will be recovered the next time the affected file gets closed
+(after it has been opened of course) by the normal reclaim mechanism
+which happens when a file is being closed. </p>
+
 SUBSECTION(Ā«Reverse MappingĀ»)
 
 <p> This feature was implemented in 2018. It adds yet another B-tree to