gsu.git
5 years agogsu: Minor cosmetic cleanup.
Andre Noll [Mon, 13 Sep 2010 03:30:18 +0000 (05:30 +0200)]
gsu: Minor cosmetic cleanup.

5 years agogsu com_help(): Be more strict when looking for command documentation.
Andre Noll [Mon, 30 Aug 2010 21:52:07 +0000 (23:52 +0200)]
gsu com_help(): Be more strict when looking for command documentation.

5 years agoChange name of internal commands.
Andre Noll [Mon, 30 Aug 2010 16:28:52 +0000 (18:28 +0200)]
Change name of internal commands.

These are not meant to be called from elsewhere, so mark them with an
underscore. Also fix the indentation of the com_help() code.

5 years agogsu: Error out if not running as bash-4.
Andre Noll [Sat, 25 Sep 2010 16:56:25 +0000 (18:56 +0200)]
gsu: Error out if not running as bash-4.

5 years agogsu: Change semantics of gsu_check_arg_count().
Andre Noll [Sun, 18 Jul 2010 13:30:18 +0000 (15:30 +0200)]
gsu: Change semantics of gsu_check_arg_count().

It's kind of ugly having to specify an artificial upper bound on the arg count
if the allowed number of arguments is unlimited.

5 years agogtt: The git topic tool.
Andre Noll [Fri, 4 Jun 2010 16:17:55 +0000 (18:17 +0200)]
gtt: The git topic tool.

Another gsu-based script for managing git topic branches.

5 years agogsu: Add gsu_check_arg_count().
Andre Noll [Mon, 21 Jun 2010 14:29:20 +0000 (16:29 +0200)]
gsu: Add gsu_check_arg_count().

This function is open-coded $MANY times, so it makes sense to
have one globally visible function that can be called from all
scripts that use gsu.

5 years agogsu: Print the name of the invalid config variable on errors.
Andre Noll [Sun, 13 Jun 2010 23:46:21 +0000 (01:46 +0200)]
gsu: Print the name of the invalid config variable on errors.

5 years agogsu: Fix quoting for multi-line variables.
Andre Noll [Mon, 5 Apr 2010 16:29:14 +0000 (18:29 +0200)]
gsu: Fix quoting for multi-line variables.

The new para_adm topics command triggered this bug.

5 years agogsu: Fix com_prefs() for invalid preferences.
Andre Noll [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 14:23:25 +0000 (15:23 +0100)]
gsu: Fix com_prefs() for invalid preferences.

The prefs command would print only empty values for
all options that come after an invalid option.
Refuse to execute com_prefs() in this case is the most
simple fix.

5 years agogsu: Make command line vars trump config file vars.
Andre Noll [Tue, 2 Mar 2010 15:00:23 +0000 (16:00 +0100)]
gsu: Make command line vars trump config file vars.

This allows to overrule preferences  given in the config file by
using command line like this

lv=foo snapfsck

which ignores the setting of lv in ~/.snapfsck.rc and uses the value
"foo" instead.

5 years agogsu: Print help text on prefs command.
Andre Noll [Tue, 2 Mar 2010 14:56:50 +0000 (15:56 +0100)]
gsu: Print help text on prefs command.

This uses another nice bashism I recently learned.

5 years agogsu: Use bash shebang.
Andre Noll [Tue, 2 Mar 2010 14:55:32 +0000 (15:55 +0100)]
gsu: Use bash shebang.

It's kind of pointless trying to be portable here.

5 years agogsu: Allow help/man/prefs command even on invalid configs.
Andre Noll [Fri, 21 Aug 2009 15:20:39 +0000 (17:20 +0200)]
gsu: Allow help/man/prefs command even on invalid configs.

These generic subcommands do not need the config file. It's pointless
to refuse to print the help e.g. if a required config variable is unset.

Also, use the name of the executable as the default value for gsu_name.

5 years agogsu: Introduce gsu_config_var_prefix.
Andre Noll [Fri, 19 Jun 2009 09:25:27 +0000 (11:25 +0200)]
gsu: Introduce gsu_config_var_prefix.

It defaults to the $gsu_name, i.e. this is a backwards-compatible change.

5 years agogsu: Fix a typo in gsu_check_options().
Andre Noll [Fri, 19 Jun 2009 09:24:38 +0000 (11:24 +0200)]
gsu: Fix a typo in gsu_check_options().

This caused gsu to exit without an error message in case there is
an invalid option type given in the script that used gsu.

5 years agogsu: Allow empty default values.
Andre Noll [Fri, 12 Jun 2009 11:33:24 +0000 (13:33 +0200)]
gsu: Allow empty default values.

5 years agoPriliminary version of gsu2.
Andre Noll [Wed, 10 Jun 2009 14:48:47 +0000 (16:48 +0200)]
Priliminary version of gsu2.

Backwards compatible, new features are only used by dpch yet.

5 years agogsu improvements.
Andre Noll [Fri, 3 Apr 2009 08:45:53 +0000 (10:45 +0200)]
gsu improvements.

Support config files from within gsu. Untested.

5 years agogsu: Remove unused variable "tilde_signs".
Andre Noll [Sun, 26 Aug 2007 22:15:53 +0000 (00:15 +0200)]
gsu: Remove unused variable "tilde_signs".

5 years agogsu: Make man a generic gsu command.
Andre Noll [Sun, 26 Aug 2007 21:07:14 +0000 (23:07 +0200)]
gsu: Make man a generic gsu command.

Also, make the help text of eat grutatxt-friendly and add some more
documentation.

5 years agogsu: Kill debug "ret=1".
Andre Noll [Sat, 25 Aug 2007 19:00:25 +0000 (21:00 +0200)]
gsu: Kill debug "ret=1".

5 years agogsu: Replace "$*" by "$@".
Andre Noll [Fri, 24 Aug 2007 17:06:30 +0000 (19:06 +0200)]
gsu: Replace "$*" by "$@".

This allows to pass parameters containing spaces.

5 years agogsu: Trivial gsu_err_msg() cleanup.
Andre Noll [Wed, 1 Aug 2007 15:09:07 +0000 (17:09 +0200)]
gsu: Trivial gsu_err_msg() cleanup.

5 years agogsu: Fix two bashisms.
Andre Noll [Thu, 26 Jul 2007 13:40:42 +0000 (15:40 +0200)]
gsu: Fix two bashisms.

Always include the '$', even in math expressions where bash doesn't
need it.

5 years agogsu: Fix "echo -en" bashism.
Andre Noll [Thu, 26 Jul 2007 13:15:37 +0000 (15:15 +0200)]
gsu: Fix "echo -en" bashism.

5 years agogsu: trivial cleanup.
Andre Noll [Fri, 13 Jul 2007 17:06:50 +0000 (19:06 +0200)]
gsu: trivial cleanup.

5 years agogsu: remove shebang
Andre Noll [Wed, 11 Jul 2007 14:59:48 +0000 (16:59 +0200)]
gsu: remove shebang

It's not needed for functions.

5 years agogsu: print $(basename $0) instead of $0 on help output.
Andre Noll [Wed, 11 Jul 2007 13:33:07 +0000 (15:33 +0200)]
gsu: print $(basename $0) instead of $0 on help output.

5 years agointroduce gsu: The global subcommand utility, and make bbf_adm use it.
Andre Noll [Wed, 11 Jul 2007 09:34:43 +0000 (11:34 +0200)]
introduce gsu: The global subcommand utility, and make bbf_adm use it.

13 years agoeat: the environment admin tool
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 17:20:09 +0000 (18:20 +0100)]
eat: the environment admin tool

It is no good sign if one has written so many scripts that
a tool for managing them is neccessary..