paraslash.git
14 years agoparaslash 0.2.11 v0.2.11
Andre [Sat, 11 Mar 2006 15:23:15 +0000 (16:23 +0100)]
paraslash 0.2.11

14 years agowhitespace cleanup
Andre [Sat, 11 Mar 2006 03:40:55 +0000 (04:40 +0100)]
whitespace cleanup

14 years agoupdate NEWS
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 22:44:15 +0000 (23:44 +0100)]
update NEWS

14 years agodeleted: index.html
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 22:01:33 +0000 (23:01 +0100)]
deleted:  index.html

It crept in during the initial commit, and it is long outdated.

14 years agomysql_selector.c: rename get_dbinfo() to get_selector_info()
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 21:54:36 +0000 (22:54 +0100)]
mysql_selector.c: rename get_dbinfo() to get_selector_info()

14 years agomysql_selector.c: rename refresh_mmd_dbinfo() to refresh_selector_info()
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 21:49:33 +0000 (22:49 +0100)]
mysql_selector.c: rename refresh_mmd_dbinfo() to refresh_selector_info()

14 years agokill a macro which is only used once.
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 21:47:16 +0000 (22:47 +0100)]
kill a macro which is only used once.

Insert the text directly instead.

14 years agommd: rename dbt_change to selector_change
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 21:41:50 +0000 (22:41 +0100)]
mmd: rename dbt_change to selector_change

14 years agommd: rename dbt_num to selector_num
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 21:32:33 +0000 (22:32 +0100)]
mmd: rename dbt_num to selector_num

14 years agommd: rename dbinfo to selector_info
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 21:28:01 +0000 (22:28 +0100)]
mmd: rename dbinfo to selector_info

14 years agoSome more (trivial) "database tool" -> "audio file selector" conversions
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 21:20:31 +0000 (22:20 +0100)]
Some more (trivial) "database tool" -> "audio file selector" conversions

14 years agodbtool -> selector update for web documentation web page
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 21:00:57 +0000 (22:00 +0100)]
dbtool -> selector update for web documentation web page

14 years agoMore dbtool -> selector updates
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 20:57:25 +0000 (21:57 +0100)]
More dbtool -> selector updates

14 years agorename mysql.c to mysql_selector.c
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 20:53:05 +0000 (21:53 +0100)]
rename mysql.c to mysql_selector.c

Just to be consistent.

14 years agoREADME.mysql: cdt -> chs update
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 20:48:25 +0000 (21:48 +0100)]
README.mysql: cdt -> chs update

14 years agoRename E_BAD_DBTOOL to E_BAD_SELECTOR
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 20:13:49 +0000 (21:13 +0100)]
Rename E_BAD_DBTOOL to E_BAD_SELECTOR

14 years agoRename random_dbtool.c to random_selector.c
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 20:11:36 +0000 (21:11 +0100)]
Rename random_dbtool.c to random_selector.c

14 years agorename plm_dbtool.c to playlist_selector.c
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 20:01:50 +0000 (21:01 +0100)]
rename plm_dbtool.c to playlist_selector.c

14 years agoRename "dbtool" status item to "selector"
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 19:41:25 +0000 (20:41 +0100)]
Rename "dbtool" status item to "selector"

14 years agoChange doxygen file description from dbtool to selector
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 19:35:11 +0000 (20:35 +0100)]
Change doxygen file description from dbtool to selector

14 years agoAnother trivial rename
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 19:30:43 +0000 (20:30 +0100)]
Another trivial rename

14 years agogui,sdl_gui: change the prefix from "dbtool" to "selector"
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 19:29:03 +0000 (20:29 +0100)]
gui,sdl_gui: change the prefix from "dbtool" to "selector"

14 years agotrivial dbtool->selector renames
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 19:24:52 +0000 (20:24 +0100)]
trivial dbtool->selector renames

14 years agoRename some local variables in command.c
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 19:18:08 +0000 (20:18 +0100)]
Rename some local variables in command.c

14 years agorename struct dbtool to audio_file_selector
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 19:14:46 +0000 (20:14 +0100)]
rename struct dbtool to audio_file_selector

14 years agodb.h: Kill an unused enum
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 19:04:25 +0000 (20:04 +0100)]
db.h: Kill an unused enum

14 years agoRename com_cdt to com_chs
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 18:57:15 +0000 (19:57 +0100)]
Rename com_cdt to com_chs

chs: change (audio file) selector.

14 years agodbtool -> audio file selector renaming
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 18:49:49 +0000 (19:49 +0100)]
dbtool -> audio file selector renaming

This updates only Documentation and log messages.

14 years agoRename the --dbtool option to --selector
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 17:58:17 +0000 (18:58 +0100)]
Rename the --dbtool option to --selector

As two out of the three "database tools" of paraslash don't use a
database at all, let's call them "audio file selectors" instead.

14 years agoogg.c: don't use ogg_int64_t
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 02:12:23 +0000 (03:12 +0100)]
ogg.c: don't use ogg_int64_t

ssize_t should do equally well and avoids gcc warnings.

14 years agowhitespace fixes
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 01:47:26 +0000 (02:47 +0100)]
whitespace fixes

14 years agoaudiod: fix a memory leak in ringbuffer handling
Andre [Fri, 10 Mar 2006 01:32:12 +0000 (02:32 +0100)]
audiod: fix a memory leak in ringbuffer handling

Found by valgrind.

14 years agoweb/header2.html: update the changes menu item to point to gitweb.
Andre [Thu, 9 Mar 2006 15:47:31 +0000 (16:47 +0100)]
web/header2.html: update the changes menu item to point to gitweb.

From within the doxygen API reference that menu item still pointed
to the old cvs changelog which is no longer present.

14 years agoMerge branch 'no_colon_separators'
Andre [Thu, 9 Mar 2006 15:36:56 +0000 (16:36 +0100)]
Merge branch 'no_colon_separators'

14 years agoConvert demo-script to the new syntax without colons.
Andre [Thu, 9 Mar 2006 15:34:51 +0000 (16:34 +0100)]
Convert demo-script to the new syntax without colons.

As this won't work with paraslash-0.2.10, change the script
to download the git tarball.

14 years agoAdd a missing header file to Makefile.in
Andre [Thu, 9 Mar 2006 15:28:18 +0000 (16:28 +0100)]
Add a missing header file to Makefile.in

ipc.h was not included in the tarball. With this fix, the nightly git
snapshot compiles again.

14 years agomaintainer-clean: also remove skencil/*.ps skencil/*.pdf and doc
Andre [Wed, 8 Mar 2006 23:52:03 +0000 (00:52 +0100)]
maintainer-clean: also remove skencil/*.ps skencil/*.pdf and doc

14 years agoheader2.html is needed by doxygen
Andre [Wed, 8 Mar 2006 23:40:44 +0000 (00:40 +0100)]
header2.html is needed by doxygen

14 years agokill a pointless "optind = 1".
Andre [Wed, 8 Mar 2006 17:45:01 +0000 (18:45 +0100)]
kill a pointless "optind = 1".

14 years agoMerge branch 'xf_64_compile_warning_fixes'
Andre [Tue, 7 Mar 2006 13:20:09 +0000 (14:20 +0100)]
Merge branch 'xf_64_compile_warning_fixes'

14 years agoREADME: Mention the name of some debian packages
Andre [Tue, 7 Mar 2006 00:47:28 +0000 (01:47 +0100)]
README: Mention the name of some debian packages

libasound2-dev is needed for para_play, ogg vorbis support requires
libogg-dev and libvorbis-dev. Thanks to Steffen Klassert for this info.

14 years agoogg.c: use %z modifier
Andre [Tue, 7 Mar 2006 00:13:12 +0000 (01:13 +0100)]
ogg.c: use %z modifier

14 years agooggdec.c: %d -> %zd fixes
Andre [Tue, 7 Mar 2006 00:09:39 +0000 (01:09 +0100)]
oggdec.c: %d -> %zd fixes

14 years agoanother %d -> %zd fix
Andre [Mon, 6 Mar 2006 20:57:27 +0000 (21:57 +0100)]
another %d -> %zd fix

Noticed by Steffen Klassert

14 years agonet.h: use proper type for the addrlen parameter of para_accept() also in prototype
Andre [Mon, 6 Mar 2006 20:51:19 +0000 (21:51 +0100)]
net.h: use proper type for the addrlen parameter of para_accept() also in prototype

An earlier patch changed that parameter from size_t to socklen_t
but missed to update also the corresponding prototype in net.h. Thanks to
Steffen Klassert for pointing this out.

14 years agoSimplify for_each_line()
Andre [Sun, 5 Mar 2006 13:18:24 +0000 (14:18 +0100)]
Simplify for_each_line()

It is always called with the num parameter being zero. So nuke that
parameter and update the docs.

14 years agoKill an outdated comment..
Andre [Sun, 5 Mar 2006 12:59:39 +0000 (13:59 +0100)]
Kill an outdated comment..

..which stated that filter command line options should be separated by colons.

14 years agopara_filter: Update --help
Andre [Sun, 5 Mar 2006 12:49:11 +0000 (13:49 +0100)]
para_filter: Update --help

The help text still used the old syntax with colons as separators. Fix that.

14 years agopara_filter: Fix and improve help text for --list_filters
Andre [Sun, 5 Mar 2006 12:40:43 +0000 (13:40 +0100)]
para_filter: Fix and improve help text for --list_filters

The old help text still used colons as separators. Mark those filters
which have their own command line parser with a star in the filter
list. Some trivial whitespace fixes also.

14 years agouse %zd instead of %d for size_t
Andre [Sun, 5 Mar 2006 12:14:09 +0000 (13:14 +0100)]
use %zd instead of %d for size_t

As of version 2.1 of glibc there is the %z modifier, so use it.
This avoids many warnings of the type

warning: int format, different type arg

on x86_64.

14 years agopara_accept(): Use socklen_t instead of size_t
Andre [Sun, 5 Mar 2006 12:08:35 +0000 (13:08 +0100)]
para_accept(): Use socklen_t instead of size_t

Fixes the following warning on x86_64:

net.c:76: warning: int format, different type arg (arg 4)

14 years ago(no log message)
Andre [Thu, 2 Mar 2006 21:33:14 +0000 (22:33 +0100)]
(no log message)

14 years agokill another superfluous '#include "gcc-compat.h"'
Andre [Thu, 2 Mar 2006 17:10:11 +0000 (18:10 +0100)]
kill another superfluous '#include "gcc-compat.h"'

Commit 4b4c68de8d7390f966e46d9402d5499d2e8ee227 missed one of these.

14 years agofix off-by-one error
Andre [Thu, 2 Mar 2006 14:08:38 +0000 (15:08 +0100)]
fix off-by-one error

Also, make "bufsize" const instead of static.

14 years agono need to include gcc-compat.h twice
Andre [Mon, 27 Feb 2006 09:19:39 +0000 (10:19 +0100)]
no need to include gcc-compat.h twice

It gets already included from para.h.

14 years agomake header_len an integer
Andre [Sun, 26 Feb 2006 17:03:54 +0000 (18:03 +0100)]
make header_len an integer

This fixes the following warning:

ortp_send.c:169: warning: pointer targets in passing argument 1 of 'af->get_header_info' differ in signedness

14 years agosimplify open_audiod_pipe(), remove a trailing newline which caused
Andre [Sun, 26 Feb 2006 16:17:05 +0000 (17:17 +0100)]
simplify open_audiod_pipe(), remove a trailing newline which caused
the top window to flicker if para_audiod is not running.

14 years agoMerge branch 'no_colon_separators'
Andre [Sat, 25 Feb 2006 09:16:22 +0000 (10:16 +0100)]
Merge branch 'no_colon_separators'

14 years agoMerge branch 'para_play_fixes'
Andre [Sat, 25 Feb 2006 09:15:54 +0000 (10:15 +0100)]
Merge branch 'para_play_fixes'

14 years agoUse whitespace instead of colons to separate receiver/filter args
Andre [Fri, 24 Feb 2006 15:13:57 +0000 (16:13 +0100)]
Use whitespace instead of colons to separate receiver/filter args

This is much nicer but the receiver/filter argument must now be quoted if any
options are present.

14 years agoanother typo in comment
Andre [Fri, 24 Feb 2006 13:09:42 +0000 (14:09 +0100)]
another typo in comment

ipc.c:44: Warning: expected whitespace after param command

14 years agoconfigurable input buffer size and prebuffering
Andre [Fri, 24 Feb 2006 11:21:33 +0000 (12:21 +0100)]
configurable input buffer size and prebuffering

14 years agoplay.c: pcm_write() aborts on errors. No need to check the return value.
Andre [Thu, 23 Feb 2006 17:34:59 +0000 (18:34 +0100)]
play.c: pcm_write() aborts on errors. No need to check the return value.

14 years agoFix --device bug
Andre [Thu, 23 Feb 2006 17:29:45 +0000 (18:29 +0100)]
Fix --device bug

Duuuh, the --device option never worked because "plug:swmix" was harcoded
in play.c instead of using the value from the configuration. Even worse,
the default in play.ggo was _also_ set to "plug:swmix". Replace that by
"plughw:0,0".

This patch also simplifies and optimizes play_pcm().

Anyway, software mixing is still recommended. Here's an aprropriate
/etc/asound.conf:

---------------------------------------------------- /etc/asound.conf
pcm.swmix {
type dmix
# any unique number here
ipc_key 313
        ipc_perm 0666

slave {
pcm "hw:0,0"
# these settings may require tweaking for different sound
# cards; this is for the Powerbook's built-in snd-powermac
# probably not required at all for well-behaved cards...
period_time 0
period_size 1024
buffer_size 8192
# mentioning rate fixes wrong speed/pitch in native ALSA stuff
# rate 44100
}
}

pcm.dsp0 {
type plug
slave.pcm "swmix"
}

ctl.mixer0 {
type hw
card 0
}

pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "swmix"
}
---------------------------------------------------------------------

a Use the
: Use a large input
buffer and For one, the

14 years agofix another typo in comment
Andre [Wed, 22 Feb 2006 12:06:14 +0000 (13:06 +0100)]
fix another typo in comment

14 years agoannounce gitweb
Andre [Wed, 22 Feb 2006 11:48:07 +0000 (12:48 +0100)]
announce gitweb

14 years agoadd more ipc documentation
Andre [Wed, 22 Feb 2006 11:21:09 +0000 (12:21 +0100)]
add more ipc documentation

Also, add a GPL header and replace "shared memory area" by "shared memory segment".

14 years agotypo
Andre [Wed, 22 Feb 2006 07:39:17 +0000 (08:39 +0100)]
typo

14 years agoreplace link to the changelog by link to gitweb
Andre [Wed, 22 Feb 2006 07:07:15 +0000 (08:07 +0100)]
replace link to the changelog by link to gitweb

14 years agoadd documentation of struct plm_client_data
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 23:25:48 +0000 (00:25 +0100)]
add documentation of struct plm_client_data

14 years agoreplace cvs checkout instructions by git clone command
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 21:25:32 +0000 (22:25 +0100)]
replace cvs checkout instructions by git clone command

14 years agofor those of us who are interested in history..
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 18:30:30 +0000 (19:30 +0100)]
for those of us who are interested in history..

14 years agoTypo
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 18:22:40 +0000 (19:22 +0100)]
Typo

14 years agoreplace link to cvs snapshot by git snapshot
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 18:07:37 +0000 (19:07 +0100)]
replace link to cvs snapshot by git snapshot

14 years agocvs->git update
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 17:38:02 +0000 (18:38 +0100)]
cvs->git update

14 years agoAvoid busy loop if someone nasty removes the semaphores currently in use.
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 17:04:43 +0000 (18:04 +0100)]
Avoid busy loop if someone nasty removes the semaphores currently in use.

Just die if semop failed 500 times.

14 years agochange version.
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 16:52:23 +0000 (17:52 +0100)]
change version.

The shiny new git tree was still called "cvs".

14 years agomention plm and update the mysql description.
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 16:48:54 +0000 (17:48 +0100)]
mention plm and update the mysql description.

Also, selector is now the prefered word, rather than dbtool.

14 years agouse the random dbtool as default
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 16:07:56 +0000 (17:07 +0100)]
use the random dbtool as default

That simplifies the code quite a bit.

14 years agomake para_server use the new ipc subsystem
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 15:42:12 +0000 (16:42 +0100)]
make para_server use the new ipc subsystem

Straight-forward conversion.

This BTW gets rid of the ancient /dev/zero hack which worked pretty
well for all the years but is not general enough for the plm dbtool.

Another 42 also disappeared ;)

14 years agofix the plm database tool
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 14:52:45 +0000 (15:52 +0100)]
fix the plm database tool

(Re)loading the playlist uses the new mutex and
shm helpers and is hopefully a race-free implementation.

It works as follows:

The plm init function (parent, server context) reserves
a shared memory area (client data) as well as two unlocked
mutexes. The first mutex serializes access for racing clients
that want to replace the playlist. The second mutex serializes
the access between parent and child (com_lpl()).

com_lpl() loads the playlist from the client into a tmp buffer.
It then creates a shm area (client_shm) and copies that buffer
to the area.  Further, another mutex (shm) is created. This
mutex is initially locked.

Next, it grabs the client lock and the server lock, and updates
client_data with the id of client_shm. Then the parent is
woken up (SIGUSR1) and the server lock is released. com_lpl()
finally goes to sleep by acquiring the shm lock.

In this situation, only the parent may run. It grabs the
server lock, reads client_data to attach client_shm and
reloads the playlist with data from client_shm. When ready,
the parent detaches client_shm, and drops the shm lock and
the server lock.

This wakes up com_lpl() which destroys client_shm, the
shm mutex and the tmp buffer.

14 years agoMerge branch 'dbtool_preselect'
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 08:22:36 +0000 (09:22 +0100)]
Merge branch 'dbtool_preselect'

14 years agoMerge branch 'ipc'
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 08:20:30 +0000 (09:20 +0100)]
Merge branch 'ipc'

Conflicts:

configure.ac
error.h

Fix these conflicts.

14 years agoadd dbtool hooks
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 08:09:36 +0000 (09:09 +0100)]
add dbtool hooks

pre_select/post_select. Also, add a private_dbtool pointer for
each audio format to mmd.

14 years agoThe new ipc subsystem
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 07:12:46 +0000 (08:12 +0100)]
The new ipc subsystem

Contains functions for dealing with mutexes and shared memory.

14 years agothe new plm database tool
Andre [Tue, 21 Feb 2006 06:06:17 +0000 (07:06 +0100)]
the new plm database tool

does not work yet as the ipc problems are not solved.

14 years agorename dopey to random
Andre [Mon, 20 Feb 2006 06:25:59 +0000 (07:25 +0100)]
rename dopey to random

It isn't so dopey anymore and the upcoming plm database tool
won't be much smarter, so..

14 years agoinitial git commit
Andre [Mon, 20 Feb 2006 06:03:36 +0000 (07:03 +0100)]
initial git commit

Let's try if this works out.