osl-0.2.0. master
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Fri, 25 Sep 2020 13:48:31 +0000 (15:48 +0200)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Thu, 15 Oct 2020 14:21:24 +0000 (16:21 +0200)
It has been several years since the last release, but finally osl-0.2.0
has arrived. The NEWS file contains a summary of the changes.

Makefile
NEWS

index fd10f43..6f5b391 100644 (file)
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -32,8 +32,8 @@ OBJCOPY := objcopy
 
 # libosl's versioning consists of three numbers. Let's call them x, y and z.
 x := 0
-y := 1
-z := 3
+y := 2
+z := 0
 VERSION := $(x).$(y).$(z)
 
 OSL_CPPFLAGS += -DOSL_VERSION='"$(VERSION)"'
diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index a7a32b3..b3436c9 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -1,3 +1,27 @@
+0.2.0 (2020)
+~~~~~~~~~~~~
+The highlight of this release is the switch from sha1 to sha256 as
+the default hash algorithm. sha1 is still supported for backward
+compatibility. That is, libosl-0.2.0 can still open tables which
+were created with an older version of the library. No adjustments
+are necessary on the user side, so it should be safe to upgrade.
+
+Instead of gengetopt we now employ the option parser of the lopsub
+library for oslfsck(1). Hence lopsub becomes a dependency while
+gengetopt is no longer required to build the package.
+
+The release also features a couple of documentation improvements and
+a fair number of fixes for the build system.
+
+Moreover, we got rid of doxygen in favor of a simple m4 script
+(shipped) to generate the public header file and the html code for
+the API documentation. Hence m4 becomes a dependency while doxygen
+is no longer needed.
+
+Finally, the release drops support for SunOS and MacOS. The code has
+not been tested on these operating systems for a decade and was likely
+broken anyway.
+
 0.1.3 (2016-09-19)
 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 A couple of bug fixes and some documentation improvements.