manual: Explain how to compile from git.
authorAndre Noll <maan@systemlinux.org>
Thu, 15 Mar 2012 12:01:03 +0000 (13:01 +0100)
committerAndre Noll <maan@systemlinux.org>
Thu, 15 Mar 2012 12:07:42 +0000 (13:07 +0100)
Mention that autogen.sh should be executed first when compiling from git or
gitweb snapshots.

web/manual.m4

index e665ea7..5a348bb 100644 (file)
@@ -291,10 +291,20 @@ libmad) is needed for para_server if you only want to stream MP3 or WMA
 files. Also, it's fine to use para_server on a box without sound card.
 
 Next, install the paraslash package on all machines, you'd like this
-software to run on:
+software to run on. If you compile from a released tarball, execute
 
        (./configure && make) > /dev/null
 
+When compiling from git or from snapshots downloaded via gitweb,
+the above command will not work because the configure script is not
+included in the git repository. In this case the following command
+should be used instead:
+
+       ./autogen.sh
+
+This runs autoconf to generate the configure script, then runs it as
+above. Therefore you'll need autoconf for this to work.
+
 There should be no errors but probably some warnings about missing
 packages which usually implies that not all audio formats will be
 supported. If headers or libs are installed at unusual locations you