Document interactive sessions and add link to libreadline.
authorAndre Noll <maan@systemlinux.org>
Fri, 9 Sep 2011 16:29:25 +0000 (18:29 +0200)
committerAndre Noll <maan@systemlinux.org>
Sun, 20 Nov 2011 14:08:42 +0000 (15:08 +0100)
FEATURES
web/manual.m4

index 2839d79..d723541 100644 (file)
--- a/FEATURES
+++ b/FEATURES
@@ -18,6 +18,7 @@ Features
        * Sophisticated audio file selector
        * Small memory footprint
        * Command line interface for easy scripting in high-level languages
+       * Interactive sessions offer command completion and command line history
        * RSA user authentication
        * Encrypted communications
        * GPL licensed
index 6bddbf1..5d9fbbb 100644 (file)
@@ -115,6 +115,9 @@ All connections between para_server and para_client are encrypted
 with a symmetric RC4 session key. For each user of paraslash you must
 create a public/secret RSA key pair for authentication.
 
+If para_client is started without non-option arguments, an interactive
+session (shell) is started. Command history and command completion are
+supported through libreadline.
 
 *para_audiod*
 
@@ -135,7 +138,8 @@ socket credentials, if available.
 
 The client program which talks to para_audiod. Used to control
 para_audiod, to receive status info, or to grab the stream at any
-point of the decoding process.
+point of the decoding process. Like para_client, para_audioc supports
+interactive sessions on systems with libreadline.
 
 *para_recv*
 
@@ -262,6 +266,10 @@ Optional:
        libao). Needed to build the ao writer (ESD, PulseAudio,...).
        Debian package: libao-dev.
 
+       - XREFERENCE(http://cnswww.cns.cwru.edu/php/chet/readline/rltop.html,
+       GNU Readline). If this library (libreadline-dev) is installed,
+       para_client and para_audioc support interactive sessions.
+
 Installation
 ~~~~~~~~~~~~