user manual: Add section on contributing.
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Mon, 26 Dec 2016 16:13:28 +0000 (17:13 +0100)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Fri, 30 Dec 2016 14:22:31 +0000 (15:22 +0100)
web/manual.md

index 1538613..ff99fb2 100644 (file)
@@ -1813,6 +1813,33 @@ Examples
 Development
 ===========
 
+Contributing
+------------
+
+Paraslash is an open source project and contributions are
+welcome. Here's a list of things you can do to help the project:
+
+- Report problems with building, installing or running the software.
+  In particular, test the experimental git branches ("next" and "pu").
+  This helps to identify and fix problems before the code gets merged
+  and thus keeps the master branch as stable as possible.
+- Proofread the documentation (manual, web pages, man pages, source
+  code documentation) and point out unclear or poorly written parts. If
+  you are a native English speaker you will easily find a lot of text
+  that could be improved.
+- Run analysis tools (coverity, afl, sparse, etc.) and report issues
+  found by those tools.
+- Suggest new features you would like to see implemented.
+- Compile and test on your favorite architecture or operating
+  system. The code is tested only on a limited set of systems, so you
+  will probably encounter problems when building on different systems.
+- Post about about paraslash on your blog or on social networks.
+- Build and maintain Debian/RPM packages for your favorite distribution.
+
+Note that there is no mailing list, no bug tracker and no discussion
+forum for paraslash. If you'd like to contribute, or have questions
+about contributing, send email to Andre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>.
+
 Tools
 -----