gsu: Improve documentation of _gsu_get_command_regex().
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Tue, 26 Aug 2014 21:18:58 +0000 (23:18 +0200)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Fri, 29 Aug 2014 19:56:32 +0000 (21:56 +0200)
Although this function is private, it is central to the subcommand
part of gsu and should thus be properly documented. The new text is
more precise about the meaning of the regular expression that is used
to identify subcommands.

misc/gsu/subcommand

index f1685aa..a04b8de 100644 (file)
@@ -11,8 +11,16 @@ _gsu_usage()
        gsu_short_msg "# Usage: $_gsu_self command [options]"
 }
 
-# Each line matching this is recognized as a subcommand. The name of the may be
-# given as $1. In any case the subcommand is the first subexpression.
+# Return an extended regular expression to match against $0.
+#
+# When called without argument, the expression matches all lines which define a
+# subcommand.
+#
+# If an argument is given, the returned expression matches only the subcommand
+# passed as $1. This is useful to tell if a string is a valid subcommand.
+#
+# Regardless of whether an argument is given, the returned expression contains
+# exactly one parenthesized subexpression for matching the command name.
 _gsu_get_command_regex()
 {
        local cmd="${1:-[-a-zA-Z_0-9]+}"