manual: Bump required gcc version to 4.1.
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Sun, 6 Mar 2016 15:43:05 +0000 (16:43 +0100)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Tue, 12 Apr 2016 16:56:13 +0000 (18:56 +0200)
gcc-3 is not good enough any more since it has no support for weak
references, which were introduced half a year ago in commit 9bf6dc2e
(error.h: Never call (para_)strerror() on osl errors).

gcc-3.3 was released in 2003, gcc-4.2 in 2007. It should be OK to
require gcc-4.2 from now on.

web/manual.m4

index addc245..a7977ae 100644 (file)
@@ -222,7 +222,7 @@ Detailed description: In any case you'll need
 
        - XREFERENCE(ftp://ftp.gnu.org/pub/gnu/gcc, gcc) or
        XREFERENCE(http://clang.llvm.org, clang). All gcc versions
-       >= 3.3 are currently supported. Clang version 1.1 or newer
+       >= 4.2 are currently supported. Clang version 1.1 or newer
        should work as well.
 
        - XREFERENCE(ftp://ftp.gnu.org/pub/gnu/make, gnu make) is