aft.c: Improve documentation of get_afhi_of_row().
authorAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Tue, 11 Jul 2017 17:33:31 +0000 (19:33 +0200)
committerAndre Noll <maan@tuebingen.mpg.de>
Tue, 18 Jul 2017 14:14:09 +0000 (16:14 +0200)
It is not obvious that the function initializes the afh_info structure
so that its members point to memory-mapped data. This comment adds
some clarifying comments.

aft.c

diff --git a/aft.c b/aft.c
index 063e506..0c4c932 100644 (file)
--- a/aft.c
+++ b/aft.c
@@ -374,6 +374,7 @@ static void save_afhi(struct afh_info *afhi, char *buf)
        sprintf(p, "%s", afhi->tags.comment);
 }
 
+/* does not load the chunk table */
 static void load_afhi(const char *buf, struct afh_info *afhi)
 {
        afhi->seconds_total = read_u32(buf + AFHI_SECONDS_TOTAL_OFFSET);
@@ -590,6 +591,10 @@ static int get_hash_of_row(const struct osl_row *row, unsigned char **hash)
  *
  * \return The return value of the underlying call to osl_get_object().
  *
+ * After the call the members of the afhi structure point to mapped memory
+ * which is owned by the osl table, Hence the caller must not attempt to free
+ * this memory by calling \ref clear_afhi().
+ *
  * \sa get_chunk_table_of_row().
  */
 int get_afhi_of_row(const struct osl_row *row, struct afh_info *afhi)